Why is Brazil’s F1 race now called the Sao Paulo Grand Prix?

The Brazilian Grand Prix is one of the most iconic races on the Formula 1 calendar.

Between 2005 and 2009, it was the place where the World Championship was decided with Fernando Alonso (twice), Kimi Raikkonen, Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button all leaving Interlagos with one more World Championship than when they arrived.

It is the place where Ayrton Senna famously drove to the win in 1991 while stuck in fifth gear in the rain, suffering cramps before hoisting the trophy aloft.

But officially, the last Brazilian Grand Prix was in 2019 – won by Max Verstappen. The race was cancelled in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, before returning under the Sao Paulo Grand Prix moniker in 2021.

The change in name is due to the new contract promoters agreed with F1 to keep the race at Interlagos until the end of 2025, staving off a threat from Rio de Janeiro.

The name change reflects the increased involvement of the local authorities and also helps to promote the city worldwide.

It is much the same reason why the Mexican Grand Prix is now officially the Mexico City Grand Prix.

Adblock test (Why?)

This was shown first on: https://racingnews365.com/why-is-brazils-f1-race-now-called-the-sao-paulo-grand-prix

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *